OPM

It means Original Pilipino Music. You know, Eraserheads, Yoyoy Villame and When I Met You. Kind of a misnomer, because it is very hard to find originality in Filipino music. I mean that in a good way, as we take what is good in other people’s music (not so original, themselves) and make the result uniquely Filipino.

Consider Rico J Puno’s The Way We Were. Popularised by Barbra Streisand, it started as a “class” song, much like Pitbull and Ke$ha’s “Timber” is today. Unreachable by the common people, Rico J started the song with spoken Tagalog, referring to strolling around the park, sweetness between couples (he was pretty risque, as we are talking about Rico J Puno here in the time before Young Love, Sweet Love). No wonder he was such a hit with the ladies ( aside from the mustache).

Then I remembered more songs. Binibini, Bato sa Buhangin, Kahit Isang Saglit, Sana Maulit Muli. All good fun with LSS.

***
As my three readers may have guessed, I finally got a new internet connection, and I spent it on removing obscenity from my hard drive. My mother got back to school and learned computer. I have also lessened my beer intake. Aside from playing Monster Hunter on a PSP, playing with our kitten, 2 dogs and 2 hamsters, and making chocolate products, I have found new ways of having fun. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

