Thoughts for the Day: The Flag-Bearer

On account of this girl:

Image from gmanews.tv

It certainly looks inspirational enough. I had no fb friends who posted it on time, shucks, Mike Enriquez knew about it before I did! Well, I’m still glad I caught this, and I’m smiling more broadly because I (and the government via DSWD and DepEd apparently) got to it earlier than the advertising companies. Ha! They could have wished they thought of this instead of the Camarines Sur thing.

***

So what is so great about it? Filipinos like it because it is a symbol of nationalistic hope, that in the midst of much-publicized corruption (choppers and coffee) and natural disaster (Janela the girl lost her parents in a typhoon, too), a little girl can remind us of what love of country is about.

Except when it is not. Well, that’s what some pundits are saying. <holier than thou voice>That girl wasn’t being respectful to the flag, she was just getting it for her elder brother who apparently wanted the flag as a temporary shelter.</holier than thou voice> And so on and so forth. It was just a symbol, they say. Nationalism is a  government-created religion, they say, and this is one of its symbols.

To tell you the truth, I love symbols.

Way back in high school, I didn’t get to be with the CAT in my fourth year. Instead, I was with the Boy Scouts of the Philippines as a Senior Scout for four years. I learned about knots and signals and survival and tracking. And respect for the flag. Having that kind of training lasts. I don’t remember the Flag Code verbatim, but I know enough that as a symbol of the Philippine nation, it is very hard to miss.

***

This post is a bit disjointed, but so are my current thoughts. I’ll try again to make it up:

IN THE NEWS:

SENATOR JUAN MIGUEL “MIGZ” ZUBIRI RESIGNS FROM THE SENATE IN LIGHT OF THE INCOMING ELECTORAL PROTESTS FROM THE LAST ELECTIONS.

My take? Ang ganda pala ng asawa niya. Mag-aartista kaya siya?

from interaksyon.com

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

