Thoughts for the Day: The White Plague by Frank Herbert

Just finished The White Plague by Frank Herbert.

I got introduced in reading Frank Herbert through a game show question. I was watching Battle of the Brains (hosted by David Celdran) with my cousins then. One of the questions was about the author of Dune. Back then, I was in primary school and already a “voracious reader” that I got interested in this book that when I found it in Booksale in college, I bought it and read the series (until Hunters of Dune) in chronological order.

I also got myself other books by Frank Herbert, like Whipping Star. After the epic that was Dune, Whipping Star and The White Plague were light reading. The White Plague, especially, is written in the style of Dune. The plot of a worldwide disease that kills only women has severe and far-ranging effects. Frank Herbert explores these effects as best as he could have in the 50s. The story then is as believable as network news.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

