Obligatory Independence Day Post

I’ll leave the rants to other bloggers and the vivas to Philippine history textbook fans. I’ll just share a moment of independence when I was a young’un.

One of my earliest memories involved me gaining the independence to take a bath by myself. It was curiosity, yes, I think it was, that led me to try Zonrox bleach as shampoo. The days after that I attributed it to a dare.

I got sunburn skin peels in the middle of the rainy season.

(I hope people who wish for independence got a moral out of my story.)


2 responses to “Obligatory Independence Day Post

  • Don Dee

    My first real independent act was to take public transportation and watch a movie with my elementary school friends. We took the jeep to ali mall (opkors) and saw Firefox (starring Clint Eastwood). I was grade 6 and was about to graduate elementary. My dad gave me 50 pesos, and that was enough that I could even buy 1 siopao and coke.🙂

  • chrisandjo

    the value of autonomy of course but, being independent, we should be responsible to our human acts and withstand our actions.

Leave a Reply

