Trips

I remember when I was working a part time job in an international company where I worked with hundreds of other people. It was a 6-hour shift and repetitive. Like other young people on the job, I started to find ways of livening up the experience.

In between calls (there I said it) I started fooling around the computer I used. Internet access was restricted, and I thought it was monitored anyway. Games were out. No solitaire, no minesweeper, no pinball.

Well, we had MS Paint.

And so, in between calls, I busied myself with making simple pictures. I started with the typical “bahay kubo” and mountain background. My creations eventually evolved until I made a reasonable facsimile of the Plankton character in Spongebob Squarepants. I was aware of my meager skills and made up for them by focusing on other things, like work. I also made captions to make Plankton talk and make funny remarks whenever I am on break by making it my desktop wallpaper. I didn’t mention it much to coworkers, but they got the idea anyway. Soon, other people began their own “artworks.” One was so good as to do landscapes other than mountains and rivers.

Then one day coming to work, MS Paint disappeared. I grieved the loss and oppression, but I couldn’t do anything. I knew I was in the wrong, but the company didn’t point out anyone or print any memos.

But there was still Notepad.šŸ™‚


One response to “Trips

Leave a Reply

