Deconstructing Simply Jessie

This being a slow day, and a very hot one indeed, I decided to fall back on the past and found this song in one of my drafts. So, in the spirit of Sunday radio, I present you one of the songs that have mystified me: Simply Jessie.

Why is it named that way? Why the strange composition, that the song feels incomplete, like I have stumbled into the middle of the song?

1 And I don’t know how I knew it
2 But I knew it somehow
3 You’re the answer to the question
4 No one’s answered ’til now
5 And I don’t know what you see
6 What you see in me
7 Girl it’s nothing to what I see in you

8 Stars that glisten
9 Lips for kissin’
10 Honey listen it’s true
11 No one ever loved you better
12 I love ya honey

13 And I’ve known a girl or two
14 But none of them was you
15 And they could never be what you are to me

16 Stars that glisten
17 Lips for kissin’
18 Honey listen it’s true
19 No one ever loved you better
20 I love ya honey
21 I love you hmmm
22 I love you
23 I love you
24 I love you
25 I love you

(thanks to greatest movie themes for the transcription. I will never know how many “I love yous” go into the ending.)

My inputs: (not meant to be funny, just inputs)

1 The song starts off like a second stanza, even alluding to a thought that the singer does not know how he got. (Answer: He thought it.)
2 See?
3-4 Again alluding to a question which he does not give. Was it “Who will I marry?” or “Who will I love?” Whatever happened to Christ being the answer?
5-7 This, my readers, is what I see as the reason why Filipinos love this song. Rex Smith thinks like a Filipino talks. He puts words, however intelligible, on emotions like a Pinoy. Contrast the line a girl who asks her lovesick friend: “Ano ba ang nakita mo sa kanya?” (What did you see in him?)

8-12 This is the unofficial chorus. It sounds like drivel on the radio, what with all the words stretched out. Well, for one thing, it is drivel. Sweet nothings, to be specific and kinder. Just the sort of things lovers say to one another.

13-15 Maybe the girl would have said, “thatsabunchabullshit” at this point, so our singer reiterates his love by saying that the girl is his special one.

16-25 The “chorus” is repeated until it degenerates into a bunch of “i love yous.” For more cheesiness, watch the video!

Well, according to Wikipedia, or whoever wrote the entry on Rex Smith, the song was a part of a movie, Sooner or Later,

And now, the video:

See, the video is not an actual music video but a clip in a TV-movie called Sooner or Later. Rex Smith plays a music teacher who falls in love with his student (who falls in love with him first) who is only 13.

That’s all I’m legally allowed to say.🙂


Leave a Reply

